Skip to main content
OCCC banner image with library photo

About the Library: Checking Out Books

This guide includes information on services and policies at the OCCC Library.

Library Cards

All current students and OCCC faculty and staff are authorized to use all services of the OCCC Library. Once you are enrolled at OCCC or begin employment, you are automatically set up with a Library account. Your OCCC ID card is your library card. It must be valid for the current semester. If you do not have your OCCC ID, a valid federal or state photo ID is acceptable. To get your OCCC ID made, visit the Office of Records and Registration.

Non-students, 16 and older, residing in the Oklahoma City Metropolitan area may apply for a courtesy card by presenting a current state or federal photo ID. At the time of application, a courtesy account will be created and at that time one item may be checked out to the new courtesy card patron from the OCCC Library’s circulating collection. The courtesy card will then be mailed to the home address supplied by the applicant in order to verify the address. Once the card arrives in the mail, the applicant can then use their new courtesy card to check out up to five items from the Library’s circulating collection. All courtesy card holders must present their courtesy card in order to check out items. A state or federal ID alone is not sufficient. The courtesy card is valid for one year.

Note:  A Courtesy Card patron must be in the OCCC Library in order to access most electronic library resources, such as databases. Courtesy Card patrons do not have access to OverDrive eBooks. 

OCCC students, faculty, & staff may use libraries at many other higher education institutions in Oklahoma to check out books from their library using an OK-Share Card. OK-Share cards are only valid for the current semester and may be used in most Oklahoma college libraries. Library staff reserve the right to refuse an OK-Share library card to anyone who has overdue books and/or a history of not returning books on time. Once an OK-Share card is received, you may go to any OK-Share participating institution to utilize their facilities and borrow materials from their library. Students from other institutions may also request an OK-Share card from their home library and present their OK-Share card at the OCCC Library Circulation Desk. An OK-Share account will be created for them and they may check out up to five items from the OCCC collection. A valid student ID as well as an OK-Share card issued by their institution is required. For more information, visit the Circulation Desk or call (405) 682-7564. 

Note:  OK-Share patrons must be in the OCCC Library in order to access most electronic library resources, such as databases. OK-Share patrons do not have access to OverDrive eBooks. 

Loading ...

Checkout Policy

Picture of Circulation Desk Sign

All items can be checked out at the Circulation Desk on the 1st floor. Please bring your OCCC ID or your Courtesy or OK-Share Card.

The checkout period for all circulating material is two weeks with a maximum of two renewals, as long as the item is not on hold for another patron.

A maximum of 10 items may be checked out by OCCC students.

A maximum of 5 items may be checked out by Courtesy Card and OK-Share patrons.

No more than 5 items on any one subject may be checked out at once.

Test review books in the circulating collection (i.e. - GED, SAT, MCAT) may be checked out for a period of two weeks with a one-book limit.

If you would like to check out an item that is already checked out, you may place a hold on the item through the Library catalog by selecting the "Place Hold" option on the item's record. You will be notified by email and phone once the item has arrived.

All items on the first floor (magazines, journals, Reference, and A/V) may be checked out by OCCC faculty onlyAll items on the second floor are available for check out by all library card holders. 

If the catalog indicates an item is on the shelf, but you are unable to locate it, come to the Circulation Desk and ask for assistance. If it is still not found, you may request a special search card be filled out, and the staff will notify you when they have completed the search.

Patrons are responsible for all items checked out on their account.

Damaged or Lost Material

The fee for replacing a lost or damaged item is $50. Damage could include, but is not limited to, water damage, stains, torn or chewed pages, or highlighting or writing in the book. 

You may request to purchase a replacement copy of the item. The replacement copy must be in like-new condition and be the same edition as the lost or damaged item.

Students with books four weeks overdue will be placed on academic hold. They will be unable to check out items from the Library, enroll in classes, or get transcripts until the matter is resolved. 

Renewals

Renewals may be made in person, by phone or by going to the OCCC Library website and selecting the "Renew Your Library Books" option. OCCC students, faculty, and staff will need to log on with their Moodle/Portal username and password. If you have a Courtesy Card or OK-Share Card, you will log in using your library card number and pin. Your pin is your month and day of birth. For example, if you were born on April 1st, your pin would be 0401. 

All cardholders have a maximum of two renewals per item. OCCC students who have items checked out from other institutions through OK-Share will need to refer to the renewal policies for those individual libraries.

To request the renewal of an Interlibrary Loan item, please email interlibraryloan@occc.edu. 

Renew Your Books

Log in below to renew your Library books. Call the Library’s Circulation Desk at 405-682-7564 if you have questions or need further assistance.



Your User Name and Password are the same as your Moodle/Email login. Do NOT include the @my.occc.edu in the user name.

Children's Collection

The OCCC Library children's book collection is for use by Child Development students only. Child Development students may check out up to 20 children's books at one time. Children's books have a 30 day check out period, and can be renewed twice if no other patron is waiting on the item. 

Course Reserves

The Library purchases select textbooks that are being used in OCCC classes. Course Reserves may only be checked out to current OCCC students for a two-hour, in-library use only checkout. If this is violated, a student's Course Reserves privilege will be revoked. If a Course Reserves item is not returned on time, the patron will be charged the nonrefundable, full replacement cost of the item. 

If a textbook is not available, email the Circulation Librarian, Johnny Hill, at johnny.c.hill@occc.edu.

Start Finding Books!

To begin checking out books from the OCCC Library, search the OCCC Library Catalog or browse the collection. The call number areas below will help you get started. 

 

A -- General Works

B -- Philosophy. Psychology. Religion

C -- Auxiliary Sciences of History

D -- World History. History of Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, etc.

E -- History of the Americas

F -- History of the Americas

G -- Geography. Anthropology. Recreation

H -- Social Sciences

J -- Political Science

K -- Law

L -- Education

M -- Music and Books on Music

N -- Fine Arts

P -- Language and Literature

Q -- Science

R -- Medicine

S -- Agriculture

T -- Technology

U -- Military Science

V -- Naval Science

Z -- Bibliography. Library Science. Information Resources

Loading ...