About the Library: About Us

Accomplishments

All of the goals set for the prior year were met.

Technology Lending Services added 120 additional laptops and 25 additional hotspots, bringing inventory to 200 laptops and 50 hotspots. Laptops were received through ITS for processing and provided to the library in batches, making fall 2023 the first semester the full new inventory is available to students. Additionally, Technology Lending Services purchased podcast kits, DSLR cameras, camcorders, and other accessories for students to use along with the equipment.  

The library was able to add eight (8) individual study carrels to the 2nd floor quiet area. They have been dubbed "Study Cubbies" and provide a more private individual space with a sliding door, multiple power options, and a lamp. Students can reserve a Study Cubby prior to coming to campus or they can check themselves into a vacant Study Cubby using an iPad kiosk. These were installed and available for the start of the fall 2022 semester and had 3,102 bookings from August 15th, 2022 to June 30, 2023. 

As part of the initial phase of the Library’s digitization project, staff digitized hundreds of photos from the college’s early years.  Photographs were uploaded to a public online platform (https://occcimages.omeka.net/) and staff added metadata.  In order to increase the amount of information accompanying the digitized photographs, staff utilized social media to connect with former OCCC employees and enlisted their assistance in identifying individuals and events in the photographs. Additionally, the Systems Librarian identified a number of VHS tapes with original OCCC recordings from the 1980s, featuring college events and marketing.  Those titles were digitized, added to the streaming video server, and when appropriate, linked to in the Library’s catalog.

Throughout the fall 2022 and spring 2023 semester, the Instruction and Virtual Services Librarian worked on the development of a new library webpage. Usability testing was conducted by librarians as well as faculty, staff, and students from across campus. Improvements made based on their feedback, though much of it was overwhelmingly positive. The website was launched at the start of the summer 2023 semester. 

Goals for FY 2024

The individual study cubbies have been a huge hit with students. Usage will be continually tracked in consideration of adding additional study cubbies, with the goal of having them purchased and installed before the end of FY 2024. 

Student need for hotspots has continue to be seen through the success of the hotspot checkout service and in the large number of students that wish to be included on a waitlist for hotspots returned early. The Library is working to secure better rates for the cost of the service on the devices, with the intention of adding additional hotspots with the cost savings. 

Technology Lending Services will conduct a student needs analysis this fiscal year and make changes and additions to services in response to the information that is gathered. Technology Lending is also working to develop a new process for laptop and hotspot check out in order to improve the process and decrease or eliminate the wait times during the check out periods. 

Library events are planned for both the fall and spring semester. A book swap is planned for fall 2023 where the OCCC community will be invited to bring and swap books with each other, and plans are in the works for a new event this spring 2024. Rock Your Research workshops will be offered in each of the 8 week terms. Topics include navigating EBSCOhost, website evaluation, creating annotated bibliographies, and using the Opposing Viewpoints database.

Accomplishments and Goals

Accomplishments
In order to meet the needs of students, inventory on laptops increased from 50 to 100 and 25 new hotspots were added to what is now called the Technology Lending Service. Aside from the summer session, all devices are claimed by students as soon as they are available for each check out period, demonstrating the need for this service and the need for the increase in the number of devices that are available. Circulation staff have worked tirelessly to develop this new and growing service which has becoming one of the most popular library services available to OCCC student. 

Group study rooms were reopened in the spring of 2022 after their closure due to the pandemic and each of the study rooms were set up to be reservable online ahead of time. Prior to the pandemic, only first floor study rooms were reservable while second floor study rooms were first come, first served. Study rooms without existing reservations can still be requested in person without a prior reservation.

Color printing was made available to both students and the public after the biennial library survey was completed in the spring of 2021. Survey participants indicated the need for this service and the library worked to upgrade the existing printer to include a color printing option. 

The "Email-A-Librarian" (EAL) ticketing system as well as Reference Analytics was configured by the Instruction and Virtual Services Librarian and rolled out for the spring 2022 semester. The EAL service allows students to submit a ticket when in need of research assistance and their inquiry is delivered to a ticketing queue that librarians monitor. A librarian claims the ticket and is then assigned to the student and their research question. Instructions were provided to faculty to embed an EAL option within their Moodle course in order for students to submit a ticket directly from their course page. Reference Analytics tracks EAL usage as well as chat statistics and allows for manual entry of a transaction when librarians work with a student in person, over the phone, or through email. 

In order to address the changing needs of students who began working more online than ever before, the library upgraded database subscriptions and added other new resources as well. Upgraded databases included moving from Academic Search Premier to Academic Search Complete and Art & Architecture Complete to Art & Architecture Source. Additional access to current and historical news was provided with the addition of U.S. Dailies. Increases in eBook offerings has also continued to be a focus for collection development. 

In order to update the library space and provide more modern options for studying, the library purchased new chairs for the entire public area of the library as well as added laptop bars. This has helped provide a much needed facelift to the aesthetic of the library.

In late spring of 2022, the library hired a digitization consultant on a short term contract. This consultant analyzed the materials that were being considered for digitization and created a recommendations document that provided best practices for work flow, metadata input, and software and equipment recommendations. This was completed in June of 2022 and allowed for digitization projects to begin very quickly after the contract was complete. 

In fall of 2021, the College submitted the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) accreditation narrative for the 10 year accreditation renewal. The Systems Librarian was asked to be the Writer for the narrative and the Library Director co-chaired a criteria committee. Both worked together to created evidence documents and link all required evidence to the narrative within the HLC accreditation platform. OCCC passed reaccreditation with no findings. 

Goals
Due to the success of the Technology Lending Service and the demand by students, the library hopes to double the inventory of both laptops and hotspots, as well as begin to offer access to other devices such as DSLR cameras, camcorders, and podcasting kits. In addition, the library would like to begin to provide training workshops for students to be able to learn how to use the equipment. 

As part of another stage for updating library spaces, the library will be adding private individual study carrels to the quiet area of the second floor, looking into updated computer stations, and adding more soft furniture to the second floor lobby area for group study and lounging. 

With the completion of the digitization consultation, the library looks forward to beginning digitization projects for FY 2023. This includes supporting the College's 50th anniversary celebration by digitization a large collection of print photos and making them accessible and searchable online, as well as beginning other projects such as digitizing back issues of The Pioneer (OCCC's student newspaper) and The Absolute (a publication of student works by the Arts, English, and Humanities Division) that are not already available online. 

In the summer of 2021, the OCCC webpage changed to a new platform and new logos and color schemes were developed. In an effort to have a more consistent look between the OCCC webpage and the library webpage, the library will work to update the library webpage, incorporating the new logos and color schemes for the College. Feedback will be requested through usability studies that will be provided to staff, faculty, and students at OCCC. 

Accomplishments and Goals

Accomplishments

Beginning in spring 2021, the library began an equipment checkout service for laptops and webcams. Twenty laptops were available initially and increased to 100 laptops by the end of FY 2021 due to the demand. This service has been an overwhelming success, with all laptops being claimed during each check out period. In order to further expand the equipment check out service and meet student needs, funds were secured for 25 hotspot devices through an initiative request for CARES Act funding. This will be fully implemented for the fall 2021 semester. 

As another way to meet student needs, a study room was converted into a Zoom Room where students, in groups or individually, would be able to participate in web conferencing calls or record videos. This space is also available to the public. Additional equipment, such as a quality microphone and lighting, will be added for the fall 2021, which were also made available through an initiative request for CARES Act funding.

In the summer of 2020, the Circulation Librarian and liaison to the Division of Arts, English, and Humanities, created library guides for the English Composition I and English Composition II courses. These guides incorporate specific course assignments and provide guidance on research, evaluation, plagiarism, and MLA citations. For FY 2021, the English Composition I guide received 3701 views and the English Composition II guide received 2027 views. 

Due to the COVID pandemic, the majority of OCCC courses were being taught online. In order to provide more instructional opportunities, new library overview videos and resource tutorial videos were created and shared with faculty to embed into their courses. These videos are also available on the Library YouTube page. Although students were primarily working online, librarians were still available in person and virtually for one-on-one consultations. There was also a significant increase in use of EBSCOhost databases, as well as interlibrary loan requests. Both of these services were key to student access during the COVID pandemic. 

The Library Director participated in OER trainings and presentations and was admitted into the Open Education Network OER Librarian Certification program. This program began in the spring of 2021 and will conclude in the fall of 2021. Additionally, other courses at OCCC have adopted OER materials including Astronomy and US History. 

EZProxy, a platform that authenticates campus users and allows off-campus access to Library resources, was moved to a hosted server.  The cloud installation allows for continuity of operations, increased security, and reduced manpower to maintain.

Goals for FY 2022

In the Spring of 2021, a library survey was conducted and three services stood out as ones of most interest to respondents: color printing, hotspots, and additional ebooks. The library is regularly increasing ebook offerings, both through the EBSCOhost academic ebook collection as well as through Overdrive, which provides access to popular materials in both fiction and non-fiction. To address the need for hotspots, the library requested CARES Act funds in FY 2021 to pilot a hotspot program. Funds were awarded to obtain 25 hotspot devices. This service is expected to begin in the fall of 2021. The decision was also made to upgrade the black and white printer to a color printer in FY 2022. These goals are a direct response to the survey. 

OCCC will be working for reaccreditation with the Higher Learning Commission in the fall of 2021. The Library Director served as a co-chair on a criterion committee in the spring of 2021 and the Systems Librarian, who has worked on reaccreditation in the past and has many years of institutional knowledge, will serve as the assurance argument writer going into the new fiscal year. 

After the vast majority of OCCC courses moved online due to the pandemic and the expectation that online and hybrid course offerings will become a more permanent makeup of course offerings, the OCCC Library will explore new ways to engage with courses and students virtually. This may include but is not limited to new online tutorials, additional LibGuides, and integrating "Email-A-Librarian" options directly into Moodle courses. 

As a way to better track study room usage and determine space needs, all study rooms will be available to reserve online. Students will still be able to request a room without a prior reservation, but the availability to submit advanced reservations for all study rooms will become the standard. 

To continue to build OER and increase awareness, OER training for librarians will take place over the 2021-2022 academic year, as well as working with Academic Affairs on the development of potential OER faculty training opportunities. 

Additionally, the decision has been made to move the library management system to the cloud. Moving the Sirsi LMS to a hosted (cloud) instance will improve security, allow for immediate and seamless updates, and reduce the amount of campus resources needed to maintain it. This migration is planned for late fall 2021. 

COVID

COVID precautions that were put into place during FY 2020 are still in place, including socially distanced computers, study tables, and furniture, as well as plexiglass barriers and regular cleaning routines. Students have the option to work with a librarian in person, via chat, email, or through Zoom. Additional resources have been added, such as more eBooks and two new streaming services: Academic Video Online and PBS. With OCCC course offerings likely to remain heavily online, additional online article databases are being considered, allowing students access to even more online resources. These will likely be acquired during the 2021-2022 academic year. 

Accomplishments and Goals

Accomplishments

Online chat and the ability to reserve study rooms and schedule library instruction were made available mid-year. These services were immediately utilized by students and faculty. The chat service proved to be an invaluable addition in light of the pandemic and allowed librarians to continue to easily connect with students. 

Additional Huddle Stations were added to study rooms, which allow students to work collaboratively using technology. Two of the reserveable study rooms include Huddle Stations and two other Huddle Stations are available in study rooms that are first come, first served. 

Librarians collaboratively formalized a Library Assessment Plan which included the development of library instruction surveys, an updated process for receiving faculty feedback, and identifying library usage reports, many of which were already being utilized, to assist the library when making decisions regarding services, electronic resources, and physical collections. 

The Library continues to provide assistance to faculty transitioning to Open Educational Resources. The Library Director coordinated an OER training course. Ten faculty participated in the training, including English faculty, who then adopted and adapted OER materials for English Composition I and II. These classes are also now supported by library guides that were developed by the Arts, English, and Humanities Division library liaison.

As a response to the COVID pandemic, the library worked to continue to provide essential services to students. Temporary access to additional article and film databases were made available and new resource tutorials were created. During the campus closure, efforts were made to continue to provide access to the Library textbook collection, so that access for students was not greatly impacted. A library guide to COVID was also created, both to inform students about changes on campus and in the Library, as well as information about COVID in general. Once the Library reopened, the space was modified to provide distance between patrons, plexiglass and demarcations on the floor for where to stand were added, and a new cleaning process was created to mitigate the spread and provide a safe space to students and employees. 

Goals for FY 2021

OER will continue to be a focus for the OCCC Library, offering support to faculty in located and adopted material for their courses. The Library Director will take advantage of opportunities to learn more about OER adoption and creation in order to be an informed advocate for Open Educational Resources. 

The OCCC Library will focus on updating and creating new library instruction videos in order to have multiple means for OCCC students to learn about and engage with library resources.

Accomplishments

- Hired new full time librarian

- Excel Series and Arbor Day

- ATD Conference

Looking Forward

- OER

- Chat

- Online Reservations

 - Assessment

- Increase Huddle Stations 

Goals and Accomplishments

Library staff remain involved across campus by serving on committees and working to support the academic divisions and other departments on campus. A goal for the spring 2018 semester was for librarians to reach out to at least one other department to learn more about what they do and how the Library can offer support. Areas visited included TRiO, Veterans’ Services, Financial Aid, and Community Outreach and Education. Updates on Library services were provided and new materials for the collection were purchased that were recommended by these areas.

Three displays were created in collaboration with faculty or programs: Faculty Recommended Reads, a student art exhibit, and a program promotion for Child Development. For the Recommended Reads display, faculty submitted descriptions of books they would recommend to college students. The books, descriptions, and faculty photos were displayed and rotated throughout the entire spring semester. For the student art exhibit, students from a Foundations II class displayed student created 3D art. The exhibit was paired with information about the Art Program, as well as library books covering the medium of art the students were using for their creations. For the Child Development display, artwork created by children at the OCCC Child Development Center was displayed, along with information about the Child Development Program.

Librarians reached out to the Capitol Hill Library branch of the Metropolitan Library System, which is located directly behind the OCCC Capitol Hill Center. Librarians visited the library, met with the Capitol Hill Library Director, and discussed services the OCCC Library offers to the surrounding community. A handout was also created for OCCC students using the Capitol Hill Library, highlighting OCCC Library resources. The Director of the Capitol Hill Library also visited and toured the OCCC Library.

The Library is looking forward to the Circulation Librarian position being filled. One priority is to transition billing of lost or damaged materials to OCCC’s online billing system, allowing patrons to conveniently pay for lost or damaged materials online.

Librarians plan to evaluate and update all materials used for library sessions, as well as general library information handouts. The biennial Library survey is also due for FY 2019. This survey will evaluate patron satisfaction with customer service, library space, materials, technology, and resources, among other things. Feedback will be considered to meet the needs of library patrons.

Due to a retirement, the Reference Librarian position will be vacant at the start of FY2019. If this position is filled, it offers an opportunity to incorporate responsibilities from previously lost positions as well as challenge a new employee in this position to overhaul and update our reference and instruction approach. This position will be tasked with evaluating all processes with Reference and Instruction including content and materials used for library instruction sessions, ways to collect assessment data, and new strategies for outreach, among additional duties. 

Students had often received library instruction during the Success in College and Life course. With the SCL redesign, which focuses less on databases and topic selection, there is now a need for students to receive that instruction in other courses, such as English Composition. For FY2019, Librarians will encourage English faculty to bring their students, though the large number of English Composition sections will make it difficult to see each one. In the future, unique ideas and techniques must be considered to be able to reach every student.