"The Chickasaw Cultural Center is a source of pride for everyone who helped make it a reality. It tells a story—the Chickasaw story. Our array of exhibits and campus grounds feature modern, state-of-the-art architecture that combines natural elements like wood, stone and copper for a warm and welcoming environment, beckoning you to explore. It is our hope that this environment will allow you to experience the pride we feel about our heritage as we share our history and culture with you. Chikasha Poya: We are Chickasaw." - Chickasaw Cultural Center Webpage
"The Choctaw Cultural Center is dedicated to exploring, preserving, and showcasing the culture and history of the Choctaw people. The exhibits are immersive and told from the Choctaw perspective – honoring the physical and spiritual journey of the Choctaw people, the “Chahta Nowvt Aya.” Located in Durant, Oklahoma, the Choctaw Cultural Center includes over 100,000 square feet of rich, living exhibitions, a vast Living Village, classrooms, a theater, café and retail that combined, bring the Chahta spirit of faith, family and culture to life!" - Choctaw Cultural Center Webpage
"The Citizen Potawatomi Nation Cultural Heritage Center re-opened in January 2018 after undergoing a 4-year renovation. New, updated, and digital interactive exhibits tell a more complete narrative, beginning with Citizen Potawatomi oral traditions, continuing through early ways of life, conflict, and forced removals before examining more recent history, including our time in Kansas and Indian Territory, and ending with the Citizen Potawatomi Nation today." - The Citizen Potawatomi Nation Cultural Heritage Center Webpage
"The mounds site, located seven miles outside of Spiro, Oklahoma, is the only prehistoric, American Indian archaeological site in Oklahoma open to the public. The mounds are one of the most important American Indian sites in the nation."
"In one place, visitors experience the collective histories of 39 distinctive First American Nations in Oklahoma today. First Americans Museum shares the cultural diversity, history, and contributions of the First Americans." - FAM Website
"The Thomas Gilcrease Institute of American History and Art, known as Gilcrease Museum, houses a comprehensive collection of the art, culture and history of North America. Thomas Gilcrease, a citizen of the Muscogee Creek Nation, established Gilcrease Museum in 1949 in Tulsa, Oklahoma. Today the interdisciplinary collection contains more than 350,000 items. The museum represents hundreds of Indigenous cultures from across North and South America, with material culture and archaeology ranging from 12,000 BCE to the 21st century. The collection includes more than 350 years of American paintings, sculptures and works on paper, including the largest public holdings of art of the American West." Gilcrease Museum Webpage
"The National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum is America’s premier institution of Western history, art and culture. Founded in 1955, the Museum, located in Oklahoma City, collects, preserves and exhibits an internationally renowned collection of Western art and artifacts while sponsoring dynamic educational programs to stimulate interest in the enduring legacy of the American West." - National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum Webpage
"The mission of the Oklahoma Historical Society is to collect, preserve, and share the history and culture of the state of Oklahoma and its people. The Oklahoma Historical Society (OHS) was founded on May 27, 1893, by members of the Territorial Press Association. In 1918 the OHS was relocated to the State Capitol, and in 1930 moved to the Wiley Post building. In 2005 came the opening of the Oklahoma History Center in Oklahoma City. Over the years the OHS has developed numerous collections, programs, research centers, museums, historic homes, and military sites across the state." Oklahoma Historical Society Webpage
"Sequoyah, a significant figure in American history, was monumental in the creation of the Cherokee language. Sequoyah’s Cabin Museum, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, was built in 1829 and has been maintained and furnished to appear as it did centuries ago. Experience what it was like when Sequoyah actually lived at this National Literary Landmark. Stroll the surrounding 10-acre park and take in the natural beauty of Sallisaw, Oklahoma." Sequoyah's Cabins Museum Webpage
Oklahoma has been home to 67 American Indian tribes. Learn about these native cultures at Oklahoma's museums, heritage centers and events that help celebrate and maintain Oklahoma's unique Native American heritage.