Skip to main content
OCCC banner image with library photo

Business Communications - Profs. M. Leon Guerrero, A. Williams, and J. Jones: Finding Articles

BUS 2033 assignment for finding country and cultural resources.

Looking for Articles

You will be required to utilize magazine, newspaper, and journal articles for your research. The OCCC Library subscribes to many different titles in hardcopy, which you can browse through in person in the Library, as well as through online databases. This page will show you how to search the article databases that work best for this assignment.

Business Database Links:

Click on the links below to explore article databases that work well for this assignment. If you are off-campus, you will be asked to log in with your OCCC username and password. 

Using Business Source Elite

To find articles, visit Business Source Premier. From the Library homepage, click on Journal and Magazine Articles. Select EBSCOhost and then locate and click on Business Source Premier in the list that is displayed. Now perform a keyword search over your topic.

Don't enter a question in the search boxes.

EBSCOhots Search Example of Keywords

Instead, enter in one keyword in each search box.  

EBSCOhots Search Example of Keywords

 

After hitting Search, the list of articles will be displayed. You can then narrow your results by using the Refine Results menu on the left side of the page. You can limit by date, publication, suggested subjects, etc.

To view the details of an article, click on the blue article title. This will lead you to the article's detailed record page. Here you will find the abstract (or summary of the article) and subject terms. Review these to determine what the article discusses and to locate new keywords you can use for new searches. The information to help cite your article is also located on this page. If the article is available to read online, there will be a PDF or HTML Full Text link. Just click that link to view the entire article.

EBSCOhost Screenshot of full text and citation links/information in EBSCO

Should you come across an article that does not have the full text links available, check the bottom "Notes" field to see if the Library has the article on the shelf in the Library. If the "Notes" field says the Library subscribes to the publication, you will need to visit the Library to locate the article in the Periodicals collection. If the "Notes" field says that the Library does not own the journal then you might consider doing an Interlibrary Loan request for the article. Please note, however, that ILL requests can take up to five business days. To request it via Interlibrary Loan, just click the link that says Request this via Interlibrary Loan and complete the form.

EBSCOhost screenshot of how to request an article via Interlibrary Loan