Chemistry Help Guide

The Library has an academic eBook platform that is available for you to use - EBSCOhost eBooks.

• You can search for eBooks in the OCCC Library Catalog or the Academic eBooks link. 
• You will not be able to find the eBook database from the EBSCOhost database link under "Articles".
• The EBSCO eBook Collection search, results, and options screens function very similar to the EBSCOhost article database search. 

NOTE: Many people believe that using eBooks, everyone can read it at once. This is not true. If you are reading the book in your browser or you download the title, no one else can read the book. You can read the book in the browser, or read it on a device using the Bluefire app. 

eBooks are a great way to research from home. Follow the steps below or use the slide show to get started.

• From the library homepage, locate the "Start Your Search" box.
• Select "Academic eBooks" from the "Books" tab.
• Type in your keywords or search terms into the search bar.
• Review your results by scrolling down the page.
  • You can add filters or limiters from the Refine Your Results sidebar on the left-side of the screen.
• Click on the title of the book to view the item's record.
• To begin viewing, click on PDF Full Text or EPUB Full Text to begin downloading.
  • You will be asked to login to download and your download will last for 14 days.

You can access citation and emailing tools from the Tool bar located on the right-hand side of the screen on the item record.

The Library has bestseller and hot fiction and nonfiction eBooks and eAudioBooks from OverDrive and Libby. Use the instructions below or the slides to get started. 

• To access the Overdrive platform, locate the "Start Your Search" box on the library homepage.
• Click on Overdrive/Libby from the "Books" tab.
• Use the search icon to begin using the search bar. 
• Click on borrow when you are ready to checkout an eBook or Audio Book.

Please Note:

• Lending periods are 7 or 14 days.
• Titles may be renewed three days before the title is due if another patron has not placed a hold on it.
• You may check out up to five titles and place three holds at a time.

If you hold a library card from a different library, such as the Metropolitan Library System or the Pioneer Library System, you may also access their OverDrive and Libby collections, which will have different titles and policies than the OCCC OverDrive collection.