Finding OER Content - Open Educational Resources - A Guide for Faculty - LibGuides at Oklahoma City Community College

OER Collections

There are multiple sources for finding OER textbooks. Below is a list of places to begin looking. OER textbooks begin as original content created by faculty at various other institutions and their intent is for other faculty to be able to use it freely as an alternative option to traditional textbooks.

American Institute of Mathematics
List of AIM approved OER textbooks.
B.C. Open Textbook Collection
Quality open textbooks offered in a variety of digital formats. BCcampus uses open technologies to facilitate, evaluate, and create open educational resources to share around the world
Boundless
This catalog contains educational content originally curated by Boundless. In collaboration with the Boundless team, Lumen Learning imported these OER courses to the Lumen Platform, to ensure they remain freely available to the education community after Boundless ceased operations.
LibreTexts
LibreTexts is a non-profit organization committed to freeing the textbook from the limitations and costs of traditional textbooks.
MERLOT
The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
Milne Open Textbooks
Catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff.
MIT OpenCourseWare
Some of these online textbooks are open-licensed electronic versions of print books. Others are self-published online books, or course notes which are so thorough that they serve as an alternative to a conventional textbook.
OER Commons
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources.
Open Michigan
Search for open content from the University of Michigan community.
Open Oregon
See what OER materials are being used by instructors at Oregon community colleges and universities.
Openstax
A nonprofit educational initiative based at Rice University offering high-quality, peer-reviewed, openly licensed college textbooks that are absolutely free online and low cost in print.
Open Textbook Library
These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. The library currently includes 635 textbooks.
Pressbooks
The full directory of OER materials created using the Pressbooks platform.

OER Search Engines

OASIS
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 90 different sources and contains 364,699 records.
MOM - Mason OER Metafinder
The OER Metafinder performs a simultaneous search across 21 different sources of open educational materials. Because it is a real-time, federated search, it can take a bit longer than searches of pre-indexed, curated content; however, as compensation the results returned are absolutely up-to-the-minute for each search target.

Government Documents

CIA World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
The Congressional Record
The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress.
Legislation and Records of the US Senate
View bills, laws, live webcams, votes cast, and more.
Library of Congress - Government Web Resources
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Includes images, manuscripts, audio records, letters, and more.
National Archives
The National Archives - Government Documents
Links to government publications in the National Archives, gateways and guides to federal information, finding aids and indexes to government documents, federal directories, and other government publications.
Public Papers of the President
Papers and speeches of the President of the United States that were issued by the Office of the Press Secretary.
United States Congress
United States Senate
United States Supreme Court
Transcripts, audio recordings, and calendar of the US Supreme Court.

Other Resources

Other sources are available that provide great supplementary material. Check the usage requirements before using the material so you know what attributions may be required.

Images

ImageQuest
Access to more than one million digital images cleared for use in academic projects at OCCC. This is provided by the OCCC Library.
Pixabay
Over 1 million high quality free images. Credit must be given.
Creative Commons
Content in the public domain and under Creative Commons licenses.
flickr
An image sharing platform that allows users to note what restrictions may or may not be in place for other users to re-use and share.
National Archives Photography Collections
Digital images in the National Archives Catalog; the vast majority are in the public domain. No written permission is required to use them but credit should be given.
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs
Images preserved by the Library of Congress. Check the accompanying information for each image regarding use restrictions.
Art Institute of Chicago
Images from the Art Institute of Chicago's collection that may be used free by students and educators.

Multimedia

TED
Nonpartisan nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks.
Khan Academy
Khan Academy offers practice exercises and instructional videos. Topics include math, science, computer programming, history, art history, economics, and more.
PBS Learning Media
OETA and PBS have curated free, standards-aligned videos, interactives, lesson plans, and more for teachers like you.
National Public Radio Podcasts
Includes Planet Money, Fresh Air, TED Radio Hour, Hidden Brain, and more.
Freakonomics Radio
Host Stephen Dubner explores the surprising side of everyday topics like economics, education, sports, and medicine.
Sidedoor: A Podcast from the Smithsonian
The host of this podcast takes you through the "side door" to hear the untold stories of the treasures in the vaults of the Smithsonian that are not available for public viewing.